His shocking transformation from luscious locks to shaved pate is for a very good cause. Earlier in the week, Chip launched a fundraising challenge on Instagram to raise money for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital by promising to fully expose his dome in exchange for donations. “I’ve been growing [my hair] out for a good reason. So now’s your chance to put your money where your mouth is,” the 46-year-old wrote alongside an Aug. 23 video that highlighted several recent comments from followers imploring him to get a haircut. “I’m going to cut my hair, and I’m asking you to cut a check—and let’s see if we can raise a boatload of money for the kids at @stjude. The hair’s coming off on Friday, but between now and then, let’s chip in together for a good cause. And when it’s all said and done, I’ll donate my hair to @cwhl_org.” View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Chip Gaines (@chipgaines) As of Friday morning, the No Pain, No Gaines author had raised more than $300,000 to benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital—exceeding his fundraising goal! He ultimately underwent the razor alongside a St. Jude patient named Bailey. “Chip and Joanna Gaines have provided an incredible amount of love, kindness and support to the kids at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital over the years. From a stunning new dining room for patient families staying at St. Jude Target House to a garden playhouse for St. Jude patients to play in—their creativity is matched by their generosity,” Richard C. Shadyac Jr., president and CEO of ALSAC, the fundraising and awareness organization for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, said in a statement. “We’re thankful for Chip and his generous fans, whose giving determined his bold new look. Their support in funds generated will help St. Jude accelerate research and treatment for catastrophic childhood diseases worldwide and ensure that no family ever receives a bill from St. Jude.” Social media users had been divided on Chip’s lengthy locks prior to his haircut. “It’s like the rest of the country, sadly in some ways, you know? It’s like nobody can agree on anything. You’re either in this camp or you’re in this camp,” he told TODAY’s Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb in July 2021. “Well, Twitter is very similar in that regard with my hair, it’s either you love this, or you [hate it].” At the time, the TV star explained why he decided to grow out his hair in the first place. “Twofold. It’s evolved into a real philanthropic and I’m excited about raising the money part, so that’s kind of the backend of it,” he shared. “The pandemic hit and it was just like we just cut that out of our typical routine, like probably most people, and so after it got a little longer and a little longer, I just was like, ‘You know what, I’m gonna go for it. I’m gonna grow this out.’" Chip added, “I like to continue to bring in like bucket lister-type situations into my life. And I was like, hey when I die I’m gonna say, ‘Do you remember that season when I had that long hair?’ And when I’m bald as a bat here in a couple of months after we shave it, literally razor blade bald, then I’ll say, ‘I’ve never been bald before either.’” The dad of five has cut his hair to support St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in the past. Back in 2017, Chip’s first “Operation Haircut” raised $230,000 via social media. Ahead of his latest haircut, Joanna Gaines admitted on TODAY that her husband’s lengthy locks had “grown on” her. She said, “I think I’m gonna miss it, for sure." Although Chip’s campaign officially ends at midnight, individuals who want to continue chip-ping in to raise more money for St. Jude can continue to do so through the weekend here. Next, everything you need to know about Chip ad Joanna Gaines’ Magnolia Network

Fixer Upper s Chip Gaines Cut His Hair See His Bald     New Look - 28Fixer Upper s Chip Gaines Cut His Hair See His Bald     New Look - 57